Our Lady of Sorrows

And just like that we are into September, or the Month of Our Lady of Sorrows. The Seven Sorrows are events in the life of the Blessed Virgin Mary: The Prophecy of Simeon; the Escape and Flight into Egypt; the Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple of Jerusalem; the Meeting of Mary and Jesus on the Via Dolorosa; the Crucifixion of Jesus on Mount Calvary; the Piercing of the Side of Jesus with a spear, and His Descent from the Cross; and, the Burial of Jesus by Joseph of Arimathea.

It is a common practice for Catholics to say daily one Our Father and seven Hail Marys for each sorrow.

St. Peter's
Catholic women's league

541 Silvergrove Drive NW

Calgary, AB  T3B 4R9

©2020 by St. Peter's Catholic Women's League